Twitter Updates 2.2: FeedWitter

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

25 Books of Christmas: Triplets Under the Tree by Kat Cantrell

Release Date: December 1st, 2015

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Website & Twitter

Genre: Romance

Pages: 192 pages

Our Rating: 4-stars

Buy it Here: Amazon

This Christmas, he'll meet his three babies for the first time...and desire their mother in a whole new way!

After a plane crash robs him of his memory, billionaire fighter Antonio Cavallari comes home for the holidays to find triplets--and their "mother"--waiting. Antonio doesn't remember surrogate Caitlyn Hopewell, but he has triplets depending upon him. Who else can he turn to except the woman raising his children...and making him burn with desire?

Caitlyn has longed for Antonio secretly for years. Now she's living in his home, loving his babies, living the life with him she's always wanted. But then Antonio's memory returns. And the secrets he's forgotten will change everything...


I LOVE a good romance & I love Christmas, so I was really excited for this book. Once I realized the that Antonio was a fighter and that fighting was a part of the book I became even more excited. I've been reading a lot of books about fighters and I've gotten hooked on the sport. Antonio was strong and sexy, with just enough vulnerability to make you fall in love with him. Cantrell could have had him play off of his memory issues but that really didn't happen & I think it made him so easy to love. I thought Cantrell did a great job of creating two lovable characters. The only thing that I thought could have been better was the time spent on Antonio remembering his wife. I wish that had been explored more, because I felt like the wrap up was a bit brief. 

*We received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. We were not compensated in any way for this review. 

Monday, November 23, 2015

November Review-a-Thon

This month we are participating in the November Review-a-Thon, which is hosted by Book Bumblings! The Review-a-Thon lasts from Friday, November 27th through Sunday, November 29th. Our goal is to write reviews for the following books:

Causing Havoc by Lori Foster
Simon Says by Lori Foster


We plan on adding more to that list & will update it before Friday!

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

No Limits by Lori Foster

Release Date: August 26, 2014

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Pages: 432 pages

Related Books: This is Book 1 in the Ultimate Series 

Our Rating: 5-stars!


Buy it Here: Amazon

Goodreads Description:
Cannon Colter is quintessential hero material: chiseled jawline, shredded body—the works. He's also the guy who rescued Yvette Sweeny from kidnappers, only to put an end to her romantic dreams. These days, she's older, smarter, determined to face whatever life throws her way. Even the prospect of sharing a house and business with Cannon.

Cannon knew Yvette wanted him three years ago. But she was young—and some things are worth waiting for. Thrown together by her grandfather's legacy, he realizes how deep Yvette's scars really go, and how much danger lurks in their quiet town. As pent-up desire explodes between them, protecting her becomes the only fight that matters. And he'll break all the rules to do it
.


Let me start by saying that I don't think I've ever fallen in love with an author as quickly or completely as I have with Lori Foster. I have read a lot of her books & I keep waiting to find one that I like less than the others but it hasn't happened yet! I have fallen in love with every single book I have read & I'm sure that trend will continue!

Our Summary: "No Limits" is the first in the Ultimate series & focuses on SBC fighter Cannon (who you should remember if you read the Love Undercover series) & Yvette. Three years ago Cannon saved Yvette (who had a thing for him) but then they went their separate ways. Now that they have been thrown back together old feelings are resurfacing & now Cannon is determined not to let her get away. As Cannon takes the role as protector once again there is no way they can deny how they feel about each other. As things start to really heat up they are forced to deal with several unexpected threats, will they come out stronger?

I LOVED Cannon when he appeared in the Love Undercover & I was hoping that he would end up with Yvette when it came time for his story! It is absolutely impossible not to fall in the love with the men that Lori Foster writes about & Cannon was no exception! I also loved the other fighters we were introduced to & I can't wait to read their stories! From the first time they were mentioned, I thought Yvette & Cannon were perfect together. In this book Yvette had grown and matured a lot, which I loved, and Foster did an amazing job growing/exploring her relationship with Cannon. This book was hot & I loved every minute of it!  


Saturday, July 18, 2015

Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge

I recently came across the Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge & even though it is the middle of July I've decided that I want to give it a try! I think it will be a great way to motivate myself to read books that aren't the norm for me. I'm excited to explore some different genres/authors. I'd love to have others join with me, so comment on this post if you plan on trying it & share some of the books you've read! You can also join the Goodreads Group here!

Below is the list of categories for this challenge. I will be posting the book I've read (along with my review link) next to each category once I've finished it. I will not be adding any previous books I've read this year, these will all be books that I've read after my start date (July 18th).

A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25
A book written by someone when they were over the age of 65
A collection of short stories (either by one person or an anthology by many people)
A book published by an indie press
A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ
A book by a person whose gender is different from your own
A book that takes place in Asia
A book by an author from Africa
A book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture (Native Americans, Aboriginals, etc.)
A microhistory
A YA novel
A sci-fi novel
A romance novel
A National Book Award, Man Booker Prize or Pulitzer Prize winner from the last decade
A book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.)
An audiobook
A collection of poetry
A book that someone else has recommended to you
A book that was originally published in another language
A graphic novel, a graphic memoir or a collection of comics of any kind (Hi, have you met Panels?)
A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure (Read, and then realize that good entertainment is nothing to feel guilty over)
A book published before 1850
A book published this year
A self-improvement book (can be traditionally or non-traditionally considered “self-improvement”)

Monday, July 13, 2015

Undetected by Dee Henderson

Author Info: Website

Publisher: Bethany House

Genre: Christian Fiction, Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 480 pages (of awesome!)

Our Rating: 5-stars!

Buy it Here: Amazon

 When asked what he does for a living, Commander Mark Bishop is deliberately low-key: "I'm in the navy."

But commanding the ballistic missile submarine USS Nevada, keeping its crew trained and focused during 90-day submerged patrols, and being prepared to launch weapons on valid presidential orders, carries a burden of command like few other jobs in the military. Mark Bishop is a man who accepts that responsibility, and carries it well. And at a time when tensions are escalating in the Pacific Rim, the navy is glad to have him.

Mark wants someone to come home to after sea patrols. The woman he has in mind is young, pretty, and very smart. She's a civilian, but she understands life in the navy. And he has a strong sense that life with her would never be boring. But she may be too deep in her work to see the potential in a relationship with him.

Gina Gray would love to be married. She has always envisioned her life that way. But a breakup she didn't see coming has her focusing all her attention on what she does best--ocean science research. She's on the cusp of a breakthrough, and she needs Mark Bishop's perspective and help. Because what she's told the navy she's figured out is only the beginning. If she's right, submarine warfare is about to enter a new and dangerous chapter...


Let me start by saying, Dee Henderson is without a doubt one of my favorite authors! I fell in love with her when The Negotiator (the 1st book in the O'Malley series) was released & I've read every book since then! Her characters are so well developed and  have real, easy to relate to, struggles (although their situations are often more exciting than what most would experience!) One of my favorite things about all her books is that you often see so many characters overlap and although that overlap was limited in this book, I still found myself enjoying every single page.

I loved "Genius Gina" & Mark and from the very beginning I was excited to how they would end up together. I also really loved the navy aspect & thought all of the submarine stuff was very interesting! I would definitely recommend this book to pretty much everyone!



*I got this book from my local library, it is one of the few Dee Henderson books that I don't already own!

Friday, July 10, 2015

Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

Release Date: August 16, 2011

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance

Pages: 307 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:  5 stars

If you hang around with dead people, life can get pretty complicated. Take it from Charley Davidson, part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Complicated is her middle name. The deceased find her very sparkly. Demons find her irresistible. And one entity in particular wants to seduce her in every way possible.


When Charley and Cookie (her best friend/receptionist) have to track down a missing woman, the case is not quite as open and shut as they anticipate. Cookie's friend Mimi disappeared five days earlier. Mimi then sends Cookie a cryptic message telling Cookie to meet her at an nearby coffee shop. The coffee is brewing, but Mimi's still missing. There is, however, a clue Mimi left on the bathroom wall: a woman's name. Mimi's husband explains to them that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old high school friend had been murdered. The same woman whose name Mimi had scribbled on the bathroom wall.

Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He's left his body because he's being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can't let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they'll have a portal to heaven...well, let's just say it wouldn't be pretty.
Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Can she keep those she loves out of harm's way? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel her as she does?

I am in love with Charley Davidson. With each page I go back & forth on if I'd rather be her or be her best friend! She is a strong female character, something that so many books truly lack & she kicks butt. I don't know how Darynda Jones did it, but I don't know if anyone will be able to top this incredible character. I'm constantly wondering what is going to happen next or what funny/crazy thing is going to come out of Charley's mouth next. 

This book was just as good as the first & I can't wait to read the next book!


*I got this book from my local library. Don't you just love a good library find?!?

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Book Spotlight: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski

Release Date: May 26th, 2015

Publisher: Tarcher/Penguin

Author Info: Twitter

Pages: 208

Buy it Here: Amazon

In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, depression, and self-injury. The piece was so hauntingly beautiful that it quickly went viral, giving birth to a non-profit organization of the same name. Nine years later, To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) is an internationally-recognized leader in suicide prevention and a source of hope, encouragement, and resources for people worldwide.

Jamie’s words have been shared hundreds of thousands of times online. They’ve shown up on T-shirts and posters and even tattoos. Now, for the first time, Jamie’s writing is available in the form of a book. If You Feel Too Much is a celebration of hope, wonder, and what it means to be human. From personal stories of struggling on days most people celebrate to offering words of strength and encouragement in moments of loss, the essays in this book invite readers to believe that it’s okay to admit to pain and it's okay to ask for help. If You Feel Too Much is an important book from one of this generation’s most important voices.


This book is filled with all sorts of inspiring and motivational stories and quotes. My favorite is this one:        "Don't give up. Don't give up on your story. Don't give up on the people you love. Hope is    real. Love is real. It's all worth fighting for."