Twitter Updates 2.2: FeedWitter

Saturday, December 6, 2014

25 Days of Christmas: Merry Christmas, Baby by Jill Shalvis

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Release Date: December 2nd, 2014

Pages: 64 pages


Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Wild child Chloe Thompson can't believe how much things have changed. She still can't get enough of her sexy husband Sawyer, but he seems to prefer working to thinking about impending fatherhood. So tonight, a very pregnant Chloe is escaping her troubles at the town Christmas party.

Sheriff Sawyer Thompson hopes surprising Chloe at the party will give him a chance to set things right. But as the snow begins to fall and the wind rages, he wonders whether he can make it back in time. While mother nature conspires to keep Sawyer and Chloe apart, an unexpected arrival will require them to kiss and make up . . . and ring in the happiest holiday Lucky Harbor has ever seen. 


I absolutely loved everything about this book except how short it was! Chloe and Sawyer were characters that I quickly fell in love with and I would have loved to have more in this story! The story was well written & Shalvis does a great job telling a great story in such few pages!





Friday, December 5, 2014

25 Books of Christmas: Forever...Christmas by Mary Kelly

Publisher: 7 Seasons 

 Pages: 257 pages

Buy It Here: Amazon

My name is Katie and I couldn’t have imagined a better setting for a romantic encounter other than Christmas Eve. The only problem is that Alex isn’t exactly my ideal man and he doesn’t seem to have fallen for my charms either. He's insisted, right from the start, that he is absolutely not interested in dating me. At least we can agree on one thing.

But when each Christmas he whisks me away into a romantic story filled with snowflakes, laughter and unforgettable memories, I start to wonder if maybe I judged him too quickly. After all, he brings so much enchantment into my life and makes my heart beat faster than anyone else can. The only small obstacle standing in the way: he’s not in love with me. Can I count on the magic of Christmas to make a miracle happen? 


 I'm really starting to get into all the Christmas themed books & if you are too I would definitely suggest checking out this one if you are looking for something a little different!

Thursday, December 4, 2014

25 Books of Christmas: The Kidnapped Christmas Bride by Jane Porter

Release Date: November 25th, 2014

Publisher: Tule Publishing

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars


All he wants is a Christmas memory...

Trey Sheenan has cultivated his reputation as Marietta’s resident bad boy, until one day he lets things go too far and he loses everything---his freedom, his fiance McKenna Douglas, and his infant son.

McKenna has loved Trey since they were kids, but she’s had enough. When Trey is sent away for five years, McKenna is determined to do what’s right for her and baby TJ, which means putting her mistakes—namely Trey—behind her, and move on.

When Trey is released early, he returns to Marietta determined to beg McKenna’s forgiveness and become the father TJ needs him to be, only to discover that he’s too late. McKenna’s marrying local insurance agent Lawrence Joplin in a candlelight Christmas wedding.

Or is she?

Once again, Trey risks everything, but this time it’s for love....and the memory of one perfect Christmas together as a family.


This book did not go how I thought it would, it was actually better! I loved Trey & how he was portrayed in the past and how he had very clearly changed to become a better man. I loved how much he cared about his son and McKenna. I was really afraid of the consequences that would have happened after he "kidnapped" them but I was looking forward to a confrontation with Lawrence. That is the only thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars!


Wednesday, December 3, 2014

25 Books of Christmas: Snowbound Surprise for the Billionaire by Michelle Douglas

Release Date: December 2nd, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Pages: 256 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 2 1/2 stars

All she wants for Christmas…

After a difficult year, and the loss of her father, festive cheer is the last thing Addie Ramsey is feeling. She's just planning a quiet one on her Outback farm. Until her new boss, billionaire Flynn Mather, offers her the perfect distraction—to spend the holiday with him in Europe as his temporary PA!

Christmas hasn't always been magical for Flynn, either, yet with vivacious Addie by his side, and seeing the joy through her eyes, things feel different this year. Could Addie be the Christmas present Flynn never knew he needed?


This book was definitely not what I was expecting. I was expecting more excitement, more romance...it was just kind of so-so for me. I didn't hate it, but there wasn't really anything I LOVED about it. I thought that the characters were both good, but it was the story line that I just had trouble connecting with. 

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

25 Books of Christmas: The Twelve Dates of Christmas by Susan Meier

Release Date: November 4th, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, Twitter


Pages: 256 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars

The perfect business arrangement?

When entrepreneur Ricky Langley offers Eloise Vaughn the help she needs, in exchange for her attending twelve Christmas parties as his date, she can't refuse. Yes, Ricky's handsome, and devastatingly charming, but this is about business. If only her racing heart would get the message!

Ricky has his own reasons for hating Christmas. But with each date that passes Eloise opens his eyes to the spirit of the season…and opens his heart to a totally different future….


I am really loving all the Christmas themed books & this book was no exception. I loved Eloise, I thought she was classy and fun and definitely just what Ricky needed! It took me a little bit to warm up to Ricky & I wish more would have happened sooner between the two of them. I loved the whole idea of the twelve dates & really enjoyed curling up with this book!

 

Monday, December 1, 2014

Blog Tour: A Christmas Reunion


Release Date: November 24th, 2014

Publisher: Carina Press

Author Info: Goodreads & Website


Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars


Lady Catherine Trevilian and Gabriel Shepherd met in the Earl of Edenwell’s household, he the earl’s bastard nephew adopted as an infant, and she the countess’s highborn niece taken in after being orphaned as a young lady. Though not a suitable match by society’s standards, they fell hopelessly in love – but everything ended when they were caught kissing under the mistletoe. To protect Cat from Gabe’s lowborn charms, the earl bought him an army commission and shipped him out of the country. Catherine eventually accepted an arranged engagement, but never stopped scouring casualty lists for Gabe’s name.

Five years later, Gabe is home on leave for Christmas. Catherine and Gabe quickly learn their feelings have not dimmed – and a forbidden kiss confirms they’ve deepened into passion. But with Cat due to be married in eight days and Gabe still far below her social station, it will take a Christmas miracle for the star-crossed lovers to find happiness…

Such a great historical read to get you in the mood for Christmas! I love historical romance and this book was a great addition to my "read" pile! I would definitely recommend it! And don't forgot to enter the contest below!

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

25 Books of Christmas: Christmas in the Billionaire's Bed by Janice Maynard

Release Date: December 2nd, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Pages: 192 pages

Genre: Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 3 1/2 stars

Whatever possessed Emma Braithwaite to move to Silver Glen? She had no illusions that being in Aidan Kavanagh's hometown would reignite the love they'd shared in England years ago. But now that Aidan's returned for his brother's Christmas wedding, it's clear Emma's explosive attraction to the billionaire has lost none of its power.

She is the cool English beauty whose betrayal once shattered his heart. So Aidan's not looking for reconciliation -- all he wants is Emma in his bed! Needless to say, Emma has other ideas: she's not settling for anything less than commitment this time…

   
The cover is what first drew my attention to this book. I had been tossing around the idea of doing a special feature for Christmas & knew I wanted to feature a bunch of Christmas themed books. This one seemed like the perfect book to kick of our "25 Books of Christmas", which will feature a different Christmas (or winter) themed book each day from December 1st-25th! We are very excited & hope to make this a yearly tradition!

I've read several books by Janice Maynard, although this is my first of the Kavanagh series. I loved Emma from the beginning & was really hoping for her and Aidan to reconnect. I wish that their had been a little more depth throughout the book & that it hadn't taken until the end of the book to get to their back story. It was a little slower than I'm used to but I like how Maynard writes and her writing made this story enjoyable, even if there were a few things I wasn't a huge fan of! 

*By the Book Reviews received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. We were in no way compensated for featuring it.
 



Monday, November 24, 2014

Not the Boss's Baby by Sarah M. Anderson

Release Date: September 2nd, 2014

Publisher:
Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Age Group:
Adult

Pages: 192 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 4 stars

What the boss wants...

As the oldest son, Chadwick Beaumont has sacrificed everything for the Beaumont's company, but he swore he'd never follow in his father's philandering footsteps. So, for years, he's dutifully kept his distance from the temptation outside his office door--his beautiful secretary Serena Chase.

But now everything has changed. The family business is in jeopardy. His personal life is in shambles. And his sexy assistant is suddenly single--and flirting. Chadwick is tired of doing what's expected. It's time for him to go after what he wants. And what he wants is Serena--even if she's expecting another man's child.


Let me start by saying I've been reading Harlequin romances for a long time & I'm addicted! Although this story was predictable I enjoyed it a great deal & read it straight through! I actually liked both Serena & Chadwick throughout the entire book. I couldn't help but feel bad for Chadwick's wife (who he was attempting to make his ex-wife), it seemed like she had spent so much time trying to get his attention & she never got it, so she was doing all she could to try to hurt him. As bad as I felt for her I still didn't like her & am glad that the book didn't focus much on her!

This book is the perfect romance to put on your list this fall! 

Monday, November 17, 2014

Blog Tour: Afterworld Series by Karice Bolton

Book 1-RecruitZ by Karice Bolton 

Genre: New Adult, Post-Apocalyptic 
 

Scientists are the new rock stars. The infection has been contained for nearly three months, and the world is celebrating. But humans are still dying. Rebekah Taylor has seen it firsthand. Her husband was killed right in front of her by the very creatures that humans were told they no longer had to fear.

Rebekah is determined to find out who is responsible for the death of her husband and the obvious cover-up. Fueled with revenge, she begins to find answers that lead to one frightening conclusion. The apocalypse might be over, but the battles are just beginning.


Book 2-AlibiZ by Karice Bolton 

The outbreak might be over, but the nightmare is just beginning...

Rebekah vows to expose the truth behind the RecruitZ that are killing the innocents. These creatures must be stopped, but so should the people controlling them. When Rebekah uncovers who is behind the uprisings, her own life becomes in danger.

Rebekah knows that she is not alone in this fight but vengeance alone won't help her and the others to victory. It is up to her to uncover the truth for the public before the world is turned over to an elite few.

Regardless of what may happen to her, she knows it's a race against time to destroy these creatures and the monsters controlling them before there is no one left worth saving.


I have really been getting into Post-Apocalyptic books lately, and these books were a great edition to that genre! Rebekah is a great character and I loved her in both novels! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is a fan of this genre!

For more information on this series check out Goodreads

It is also available for purchase on both Amazon & B&N.


Don't forget to entire for a chance to win a zombie theme prize pack & a $10 Amazon Gift Card! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 13, 2014

His For a Price by Caitlin Crews

Release Date:  September 16, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Pages: 192 pages

Genre: Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Greek tycoon Nicodemus Stathis was never able to forget beautiful heiress Mattie Whitaker. And now, ten years of delicious tension later, Nicodemus finally has her right where he wants her!

Mattie's once powerful family dynasty now lies in ruin, and only Nicodemus can offer them a solution--a solution with vows! She might not have a choice, but Mattie refuses to be the sacrificial queen to his king.

But Nicodemus's slow, deliberate seduction wears down his new bride, and the word checkmate lies on his lips like a promise..


I loved seeing Nicodemus & Mattie's relationship unfold, but the one that that I didn't like was that the issues that they seemed to have could have been resolved had they both been willing to learn about the other & let each other in. Obviously the book wouldn't have been as exciting if they had communicated well from the beginning. Besides that, I loved the story! I thought Nicodemus & Mattie were absolutely perfect for each other. 

This is the first book by Caitlin Crews that I have read but I can guarantee it won't be the last! 

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Release Date: February 14, 2012

Publisher: The Dial Press

Author Info: Website & Twitter

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Chick Lit

Pages: 433 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 3 stars

I’ve lost it. :( The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day! Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive :) !!

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.


This is my 4th book by Kinsella & I must say it was my least favorite. I HATED Magnus & pretty much all of Poppy's "friends", I wasn't a fan of Magnus' family either. The only characters I liked were Poppy & Sam, and to be honest, I wasn't even a huge fan of either of theirs. I thought the preface for the book was cute & there were definitely some funny portions, I just feel like it could have been better. 

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Picture Book Sunday: The Boy in Number Four by Kara Kootstra

Illustrated by:Regan Thomson

Release Date:
October 2, 2014

Publisher:
Dial

Pages:
32 pages

Buy it Here:
Amazon

Bobby Orr played in the NHL with the Boston Bruins for ten seasons leading them to two Stanley Cup victories. He also played with the Chicago Black Hawks for two more— all the while wearing jersey number 4. In the Boy in Number Four, readers will get a glimpse of this hockey legend as a boy and discover the hard work, commitment, and fun it takes to make a dream into a reality.

This book also includes an afterword by Bobby Orr with an inspirational message for kids today.  
 

I've never really gotten into hockey. The area I live in is more focused on football & basketball, so I never had much reason to watch. In recent years I've gotten more interested in it & I thought this book gave kids a glimpse into the game of hockey. I thought it was a cute book & I liked the afterword by Bobby Orr!

*By the Book Reviews received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. We were in no way compensated for featuring it.
 

Thursday, November 6, 2014

The Queen's Handmaid by Tracy L. Higley

Release Date: March 18, 2014

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, & Website

Pages: 400 pages

Genre:
Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2-stars

From the servant halls of Cleopatra’s Egyptian palace to the courts of Herod the Great, Lydia will serve two queens to see prophecy fulfilled.

Alexandria, Egypt 39 BC

Orphaned at birth, Lydia was raised as a servant in Cleopatra's palace, working hard to please while keeping everyone at arm's length. She's been rejected and left with a broken heart too many times in her short life.

But then her dying mentor entrusts her with secret writings of the prophet Daniel and charges her to deliver this vital information to those watching for the promised King of Israel. Lydia must leave the nearest thing she’s had to family and flee to Jerusalem. Once in the Holy City, she attaches herself to the newly appointed king, Herod the Great, as handmaid to Queen Mariamme.

Trapped among the scheming women of Herod’s political family—his sister, his wife, and their mothers—and forced to serve in the palace to protect her treasure, Lydia must deliver the scrolls before dark forces warring against the truth destroy all hope of the coming Messiah.


I found this book when I was browsing the "New Books" section at my library. The cover grabbed my attention and reading the back made me sure that I needed to get it. I love historical fiction, but I tend to be very picky & critical when reading it. This book however, was great & the only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because I thought the beginning was a bit slow.

I didn't realize when I checked this book out that it was Christian Fiction and I actually didn't realize it until I was almost half way through. I love Christian Fiction, but sometimes it can come off as being overzealous, which this book was not. I don't think you'd have to be a Christian to enjoy it, but I think you'll enjoy it a little more if you are, because some things will really click into place. The characters were so diverse and well developed, I found it impossible not to grow attached to them. I'm definitely glad that I picked this story up & I would recommend it! 

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Release Date: January 10th, 2012

Publisher: Dutton Books

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, & Website

Pages: 318 pages

Genre: Young Adult

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5 stars!

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

Honestly, I had avoided reading this story because there was so much hype surrounding it & I was afraid that it might disappoint. When browsing my library's new arrivals I spotted this in the "Express Checkout Section" (meaning you only got it for 7 days & the fines were ridiculous).  I decided that since the movie was coming out on DVD soon, and I always like to read the book before I see the movie (so that I can confirm that the book is indeed superior, which it almost always is!) I would give this book a try. I finished it in two days. I could have easily finished it in one, but I got a little emotional & had to stop. I really connected with a lot of things in this book & some of the things made me feel like I was reliving things I have experienced, which made me really emotional when reading. 

All of the characters were wonderfully unique & it was impossible not to connect with at least one of them. John Green does an incredible job weaving a story that is impossible not to fall in love with. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone!

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Picture Book Sunday: Chu's First Day of School by Neil Gaiman & Adam Rex

Release Date: June 24th, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Pages: 32 pages

Theme: Back to School

Buy it Here: Amazon

It is Chu's first day of school. Chu is nervous.

He hopes the other boys and girls will be nice. Will they like him?

What will happen at school today?

Will Chu do what Chu does best?


As the mother of a 2 year old, I'm always picking up new books for him! When I read him this story we both enjoyed it. The pictures held his attention and were very well done. The story was cute & I didn't even mind reading it three times in a row! Definitely one to pick up for your little ones, especially if they have recently started school!

Friday, October 3, 2014

Sweeter Than Sin by Shiloh Walker

Release Date: September 30, 2014

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

Author Info: Website & Twitter

Pages: 336 pages

Genre:
Romantic Suspense

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:
5 stars 



CAN’T FORGET THE PAIN

It took years for Adam to stop drowning his regrets in alcohol, and running the local bar doesn’t make it any easier—especially not when everyone he knows gathers there to discuss the shocking allegations that have shattered his hometown. When another murder rocks sleepy Madison to its core, it becomes chillingly clear that even more vicious wounds are waiting to be exposed.

WON’T RESIST THE PLEASURE

Nothing is sacred anymore, and no one is safe, least of all the mystery woman who shows up in town out of the blue, looking like every fantasy Adam’s ever had. She may have her own dangerous secrets, but she can’t ignore the urgent heat between them any more than he can. As a killer’s quest for vengeance explodes into violence, Adam is tempted to lose himself in the delicious promise of her body—until he realizes he’ll risk anything if she’ll give him her heart


If the book has Shiloh Walker listed as the author, I know it is going to surpass any expectations that I might have for it. This book is the second in a series. I didn't get a chance to read the first book and although I think that it would have been good to read it first, it wasn't necessary. 

This book was darker than anything I've read by Walker before. It focuses on the uncovering of a child abuse ring that has taken place in the town of Madison for generations. I think Walker did a great job handling such a sensitive subject, while also developing a long overdue romance between main characters Adam & Lana. I love how Walker always does such a wonderful job creating complex characters & she weaves story lines that are impossible not to get hooked by. This story had several twists and turns & I absolutely loved it! I may have to go back & read book 1, just to see if it is as good as this one! 

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Blog Tour: Goddess Born by Kari Edgren

Release Date: May 29, 2014

Publisher: Carina Press

Genre: Historical/Fantasy/Paranormal/New Adult/Romance

Author Info: Facebook, Twitter,

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars
 
The power to heal is her divine gift, the fear of discovery, her mortal curse.

Selah Kilbrid is caught between two worlds. A direct descendant of the Celtic goddess Brigid, she is bound by Tuatha Dé law to help those in need. Yet as a human, she must keep her unique abilities hidden or risk being charged for a witch. In 1730 Pennsylvania, the Quaker community of Hopewell has become a haven for religious freedom—and fanaticism—and there are those who would see her hanged if the truth were revealed.

For eighteen years, Selah safely navigates the narrow gap between duty and self-preservation, until the day a prominent minister uncovers her secret. Obsessed with her power, Nathan Crowley disregards her betrothal to a distant cousin from Ireland and demands marriage in exchange for his silence. Selah stalls for time, but when news reaches the Colonies of her cousin’s death, time has run out.

Rather than submit to Nathan, Selah coerces a stranger to pose as her husband. It’s a good plan—her only plan—even though Henry Alan harbors his own dark secrets. But when she returns to Hopewell a married woman, the real fight has just begun. As unseen forces move against her, Selah doesn’t know which poses the greater danger—a malignant shadow closing in from outside or the internal fire that threatens to consume her heart.

Book Two in the Goddess Born series will be published in November 2014 and Book Three in June 2015.

I love historical fiction and I loved the time and place that this book was set in! I thought the story was very interesting and it definitely captured my attention. I loved Selah's attitude & her stubbornness. I thought the characters were well written & it was easy to form a connection with them. This book wasn't what I was expecting at all but I liked the way that it turned out! I'm excited to read book two!

Make sure you don't miss any of the stops on this great blog tour! You can find the entire schedule here!

Monday, September 22, 2014

Conversion by Katherine Howe

Release Date: July 1st, 2014

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Pages: 402 pages

Genre:
Young Adult, Historical Fiction

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

It’s senior year at St. Joan’s Academy, and school is a pressure cooker. College applications, the battle for valedictorian, deciphering boys’ texts: Through it all, Colleen Rowley and her friends are expected to keep it together. Until they can’t.

First it’s the school’s queen bee, Clara Rutherford, who suddenly falls into uncontrollable tics in the middle of class. Her mystery illness quickly spreads to her closest clique of friends, then more students and symptoms follow: seizures, hair loss, violent coughing fits. St. Joan’s buzzes with rumor; rumor blossoms into full-blown panic.

Soon the media descends on Danvers, Massachusetts, as everyone scrambles to find something, or someone, to blame. Pollution? Stress? Or are the girls faking? Only Colleen—who’s been reading The Crucible for extra credit—comes to realize what nobody else has: Danvers was once Salem Village, where another group of girls suffered from a similarly bizarre epidemic three centuries ago . . .

Inspired by true events—from seventeenth-century colonial life to the halls of a modern-day high school—Conversion casts a spell. With her signature wit and passion, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe delivers an exciting and suspenseful novel, a chilling mystery that raises the question, what’s really happening to the girls at St. Joan’s?


The Salem Witch Trials have always been interesting to me so I was excited to see how this book was going to incorporate the past with the present. I think I may have liked the glimpses back into the past better if I hadn't already known a lot about the trials & what happened. I definitely thought that the story was interesting and I like how several different possibilities were presented. I guessed from the beginning what the real cause was & I was happy to be right! 

Although this book was a little on the long side, I definitely enjoyed it & I would certainly recommend it, especially if you like a touch of history!








Friday, September 19, 2014

It Had to Be You by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Release Date: March 5th, 2002

Publisher: Avon

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Genre: Romance, Chick-Lit, Sports Romance

Pages: 376 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 5 stars

What if a woman who knows nothing about sports inherits a professional football team? The Windy City definitely isn't ready for Phoebe Somerville, the outrageous York knockout who’s taking over their home town team. And Phoebe is definitely not prepared for the Stars' head coach Dan Calebow, a sexist jock taskmaster with a one-track mind. This is the book that began it all. The Chicago Stars are about to take the field... and they’re not the only ones playing for keeps.

This is my first book by author Susan Elizabeth Phillips and I have to say I enjoyed every page! I loved Phoebe at first because of her personality and how outrageous she was, but once Phillips went deeper into her past & her character I fell even more in love with every flaw & every circumstance she had dealt with. I loved Dan although he was definitely a jerk at times, but their chemistry was amazing! I thought they were absolutely perfect together! 

I loved the entire storyline, I am a big football fan so I enjoyed that aspect of the story. I also thought that the excitement of someone wanted to hurt Dan was an interesting addition to the story! I honestly liked this book so much I'd read it again right now!

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Xpresso Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: Leaving Liberty by Virginia Carmichael

Release Date: July 1st, 2013

Genre: Adult, Romance

Pages: 240 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars

At eighteen, Daisy McConnell left Liberty, Colorado and never looked back. The only bright spot in a childhood of neglect and loneliness was the town librarian, Marie. Now settled as a teacher in sunny Fresno, Daisy does her best to forget everything about Liberty including her drunk father, her MIA mother, and the town she hated with every beat of her heart.

Lane Bennett’s life as a small town cop is pretty close to perfect. He’s got his dog, a pretty date when he needs one, and plenty of time to fish on the weekends. No other place can compare to his hometown and he’s happy to devote his life to keeping the folks of Liberty safe. When Marie passes away, Lane knows one of the best parts about living in Liberty is gone, along with the old Carnegie library. It needs repairs the city can’t afford and the city managers won’t pay the new flood insurance. It’s too bad, but safety comes first.


When Daisy comes home for Marie’s funeral and hears the only safe place she knew as a child is going to close, she refuses to let it happen. She hatches a plan to save the old library, run the summer reading program, and keep Marie’s legacy alive. 


She once vowed never to come home and he’s vowed never to leave. Daisy and Lane discover together that true love happens when you least expect it and you should never say never in Liberty.


This was a cute story that was a nice, relaxing read. I enjoyed the characters & the story and I thought the ending was perfect. I loved Daisy & Lane, they were great together. It was funny, emotional, and sweet-all the components for a great book!

Don't forget to enter the giveaway to win some great prices! And check out the rest of the tour, you can find the schedule here
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Deviation by Christine Manzari

Release Date: August 9th, 2013

Publisher: CreateSpace

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, Twitter

Pages: 430 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Review: 3 1/2 stars

Being a Sophisticate of the Program seems like it’d be a pretty sweet deal: a little genetic alteration and anyone can be smarter, faster, and stronger. It’s a dream come true. All you have to give up is your freedom.

Cleo is a Sophisticate and she has a bright future in the Program. But she has a secret. When she gets upset, bad things happen. Explosive things. Things she can’t control.

When her secret is discovered, she’s sent to the Academy to train in the military branch of the Program. She’s destined to be a human weapon in the war that’s been going on since Wormwood occurred nearly 30 years ago. She soon learns that although her ability is unique, there are others like her — other Sophisticates with lethal skills and odd code names like Archerfish and Mimic Octopus.

Immersed in a dangerous game of supernatural powers and dubious motives, Cleo doesn’t know who to trust. Ozzy, the annoyingly attractive cadet who has perfect aim in weapons class and deviant lips behind closed doors, begs her not to use her powers. He’s the golden boy of the Program, but can she trust him? Or will she find herself a target, caught in his crosshairs?


I thought that this book was interesting, but a bit long. I feel like the story could have been told a little more quickly & the length kind of made it drag a little bit, at least for me. I enjoyed the characters & the storyline. This is definitely a book meant for Science Fiction fans, so if that is the genre for you I would definitely suggest it!

Friday, September 12, 2014

Farmer Wants a Wife by Shelley Munro

Release Date: August 26, 2014

Publisher:
Samhain Publishing 

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Pages:
217 pages

Genre:
Romance  

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating:
4 stars

Think finding the perfect lover is difficult? Ask Susan Webb—she knows it is. Lonely, tired of dull routine and dud men who only think with their lower brains, she takes a calculated risk to shake up her lackluster life.

Now she’s set to take part in a reality dating show. Her objective: to find a good, honest man who’s up for enjoying lots of sexy fun on the road to love. Failure is not an option.

One look at his older brother’s Farmer Wants a Wife candidate, and Tyler Penrith is intrigued. Prim and proper on the surface, she has a secret smile in her eyes and an exotic dancer sway to her step. And calamity follows her around like a tame dragon.

Susan might be in his brother’s age group, but Tyler’s not about to let Nolan waltz off with the first woman to snare his attention in ages.

As the show’s ratings go through the roof, Susan finds herself falling for the wrong man—and her simple plan for happiness on the brink of falling apart.

Warning: Contains sibling rivalry, lots of sneaking around, sexy times in the great outdoors, a bright blue vibrator, and a reality show that’s giving everyone something to talk about
.


This book was definitely not what I was expecting! I wasn't expecting how outgoing & open Susan was, she definitely wasn't afraid to speak her mind. The book was a lot more sexual than I was expecting, but the story line was entertaining. I hated Tyler & Nolan's mom-she was so judgmental and bitchy. I also didn't like some of the other women contestants. Nolan was also a bit of a jerk to Susan at times, which I hated. In general I thought the story was entertaining & a quick read!

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

Release Date: February 1st, 2011

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Suspense

Pages: 310 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5-stars

This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.
Or a diagram of some kind.
A flow chart would have been nice.


Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can't she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?

With scorching-hot tension and high-octane humor, First Grave on the Right is your signpost to paranormal suspense of the highest order.

I picked this book up on a random whim-I saw it on the shelf at the library as I was waiting to check out. I am so glad that I picked it up! I immediately got hooked into the storyline, it was exciting & entertaining with just enough mystery/suspense to keep you wondering what you were missing and what was going to happen next. I LOVE Charley....if I had to pick a character to be friends with in real life I would definitely want it to be here..although I think I'd rather be her! She is funny & sassy, she doesn't take shit from anyone (dead or alive) and I can't wait to start the second book in the series!! 

Monday, September 8, 2014

The Rejected Suitor by Teresa McCarthy

Release Date: April 6, 2004

Publisher: Signet

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Age Group: Adult

Pages: 228 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:  4 stars

A tale of love and intrigue during the era of Jane Austen and Napoleon Bonaparte.

Lady Emily Clearbrook secretly loved Jared, the Earl of Stonebridge, but one day, he left her without a word. Now, years later, Emily’s four brawny brothers have decided she needs to marry. With no idea about Emily's past love, the Clearbrook brothers ask their friend, Lord Stonebridge, to guard Lady Emily from unfit suitors until they find her a proper husband. With his dangerous past, the last thing Stonebridge needs is to be watchdog to Lady Emily. But he certainly cannot tell her brothers that the person Emily needs the most protection from is himself!


There were a lot of things that I really liked about this book. I loved the time period & setting that it took place in. I loved the spy aspect of it and how little things were thrown in here and there. I also loved the back story between Emily & Jared and I couldn't wait to see them finally get together!! The only real negative of the story was that parts of it seemed to really drag on for longer than necessary. I found myself skimming through some parts, which is not typical for me. 

If you are in the mood for a historical romance I would definitely suggest checking this book out! 

Thursday, September 4, 2014

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

Release date: February 26th, 2013

Publisher: Atria

Author Info: Website, Twitter, Goodreads

Pages: 460 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Sage Singer befriends an old man who's particularly beloved in her community. Josef Weber is everyone's favorite retired teacher and Little League coach. They strike up a friendship at the bakery where Sage works. One day he asks Sage for a favor: to kill him. Shocked, Sage refuses... and then he confesses his darkest secret—he deserves to die, because he was a Nazi SS guard. Complicating the matter? Sage's grandmother is a Holocaust survivor.

What do you do when evil lives next door? Can someone who's committed a truly heinous act ever atone for it with subsequent good behavior? Should you offer forgiveness to someone if you aren't the party who was wronged? And most of all—if Sage even considers his request—is it murder, or justice?


Let me start by saying that this is the first book I've ever read by Jodi Picoult. I saw a friend post about it & when I read the description I decided to check it out. I've read a lot of books about the Holocaust, both fiction & non-fiction, and that is what made me decded to read this story. There were a lot of things that I loved about this book and the good definitely outweighs the few things I wasn't crazy about. First, I liked how the book jumped around a bit-from person to person, through time, and even in the fiction story that Sage's grandmother wrote. However, I thought that some of the transitions could have been smoother & there was even a point or two were I felt like there was really no transition. I think that was really the only negative that I can name.

The characters were great! Honestly, there wasn't a single one that I didn't like. I even found myself feeling bad for Josef at times, especially at the end. Sage was great, although I hated her relationship with Adam & I was not sad to see that end! I was a little disappointed in the ending (I predicted it) and I wish that there had been more to it, but I think it was a great story & I'm glad I read it! 

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

One Good Cowboy by Catherine Mann

Release Date: April 1, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Genre: Romance

Pages: 192 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 3 stars



From Ex to Eternity?

To inherit his family's empire, Texas cowboy-turned-CEO Stone McNair must prove he has a heart beneath his ruthlessly suave exterior. His trial? Finding homes for his grandmother's rescue dogs. His judge? Johanna Fletcher, the woman whose heart he broke.

Sure, Johanna can handle a week traveling the country with her ex-fiancé to fulfilll his dying grandmother's request. She and Stone want different things—plain and simple. But there's nothing plain about Stone, or simple about the heat that still flares between them. One week may not be long enough…


 I'm not sure what it was about this book, but I just didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. It was a decent read, there just didn't seem to really be anything that pulled me in. The characters were okay, but nothing really made me fall in love with any of them.

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Gypsy by Trisha Leigh

Release Date: May 13, 2014

Pages: 376 pages

Author Info: Website, Goodreads, Twitter, & Facebook

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Buy it Here: Amazon, B&N

Our Rating: 5 stars!


Inconsequential: not important or significant.
Synonyms: insignificant, unimportant, nonessential, irrelevant


In the world of genetic mutation, Gypsy’s talent of knowing a person’s age of death is considered a failure. Her peers, the other Cavies, have powers that range from curdling a blood still in the vein to being able to overhear a conversation taking place three miles away, but when they’re taken from the sanctuary where they grew up and forced into the real world, Gypsy, with her all-but-invisible gift, is the one with the advantage.

The only one who’s safe, if the world finds out what they can do.

When the Cavies are attacked and inoculated with an unidentified virus, that illusion is shattered. Whatever was attached to the virus causes their abilities to change. Grow. In some cases, to escape their control.

Gypsy dreamed of normal high school, normal friends, a normal life, for years. Instead, the Cavies are sucked under a sea of government intrigue, weaponized genetic mutation, and crushing secrets that will reframe everything they’ve ever been told about how their “talents” came to be in the first place.

When they find out one of their own has been appropriated by the government, mistreated and forced to run dangerous missions, their desire for information becomes a pressing need. With only a series of guesses about their origins, the path to the truth becomes quickly littered with friends, enemies, and in the end, the Cavies ability to trust anyone at all.

I LOVED this book, way more than I thought that I would! I loved Gypsy from the very beginning & I can't wait to see how her talents develop! I love how unique all of the characters in the book were. I liked all of the Cavies, but I think besides Gypsy, Jude was my favorite character & I'm really hoping that Gypsy can find away to change his future! I loved all of the suspense & mystery, and wondering who the good guys really were. And that ending! It definitely left me desperate to know what is going to happen next! This is definitely a great start to a series you don't want to miss!!

Don't foget to enter the giveaway below & to check out the rest of the blog tour posts! You can find the schedule here!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 29, 2014

The Millionaire Affair by Jessica Lemmon

Release Date: June 24th, 2014

Publisher: Forever Yours/Grand Central

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, Twitter

Age Group: Adult

Pages: 280 pages

Buy It Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 5 stars

LOVE IS A DEAL BREAKER . . .

Millionaire ad executive Landon Downey has a policy: no romantic relationships allowed. So when he's saddled with his six-year-old nephew for a week, he doesn't think twice about asking Kimber Reynolds to act as live-in nanny. What he doesn't expect is the undeniable attraction to the woman he hasn't seen since they were kids. And not only does she like him back-she suggests they work their way down a list of extracurricular activities in the bedroom. How can he resist?

Kimber wants to prove once and for all that she can love 'em and leave 'em with the best of them. All she has to do is keep her sixteen-year crush on Landon out of the equation. No problem . . . until she realizes she may not be the only one whose heart has gotten completely tangled up in their no-strings agreement.


What can I say besides I LOVED this book!?! There was just so much to it! The characters were fully developed, the storyline was actually believable, & the writing was really good! The story flowed so well that it was easy to get caught up in it (so easy in fact that I let dinner boil over on the stove not once, but twice!) I loved both Landon & Kimber and almost all the other characters in the book! Honestly, I feel like this is one that I could read multiple times and not get sick of it! I'm excited to check out the other books in the series!!

*By the Book Reviews received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. We were in no way compensated for featuring it.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

An Heiress for His Empire by Lucy Monroe

Release Date: September 16, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Age Group: Adult

Pages: 192 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5 stars 

The story: Innocent debutante Madison Archer has hit the headlines for a scandal not of her making. Now, marriage to the unscrupulous Viktor Beck is the only way to save what’s left of her reputation! 

The contract: Maddie has always featured in Viktor’s plans to take over her father’s company and expand his empire. The intense attraction between them only sweetens the deal he’s offered.... 

The secret: Though love doesn’t beat in Viktor’s heart, he’ll show Maddie just how hot their 
chemistry can be. But even this corporate shark is in for a shock—his wild socialite is still a virgin!

I have always had a thing for Russian men in books, especially romances. They are always strong & incredibly sexy characters who always seem to end up getting what they want. Viktor is no exception. Although he isn't ready to admit it, even to himself, he is in love with Maddie & he goes above and beyond what is necessary to take care of her & show her that he is on her side.

I liked Madison right away. Her father may have thought she was a spoiled brat always trying to start a scandal, but it quickly became clear that she was much more than that. Her relationship with her father was complicated & I definitely wasn't a big fan of how he handled her. He was constantly trying to manipulate her into doing what he wanted. 

I LOVED this book! Maddie & Viktor were perfect together & the story was great! This book is impossible not to love, I can't think of anything I would change!

Monday, August 25, 2014

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: Maxwell Street Blues

Release Date: August 5, 2014

 Publisher: Alibi

Genre: Mystery

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars

 Chicago runs in Jules Landau’s veins. So does the blood of crooks. Now Jules is going legit as a private eye, stalking bail jumpers and cheating spouses—until he gets his first big case. Unfortunately, the client is his ex-con father, and the job is finding the killer of a man whom Jules loved like family. Why did someone put two bullets in the head of gentle bookkeeper Charles Snook? Jules is determined to find out, even if the search takes him to perilous places he never wanted to go.

Snooky, as he was affectionately known, had a knack for turning dirty dollars clean, with clients ranging from humble shop owners to sharp-dressed mobsters. As Jules retraces Snooky’s last days, he crosses paths with a way-too-eager detective, a gorgeous and perplexing tattoo artist, a silver-haired university administrator with a kinky side, and a crusading journalist. Exposing one dirty secret after another, the PI is on a dangerous learning curve. And, at the top of that curve, a killer readies to strike again.


This book was different than what I typically read but the fact that it is based in Chicago made me want to check it out! It was a pretty fast read, with lots of surprises. There were a couple parts that seemed to drag on a little, but other than that it moved along quickly. The characters were so diverse that at times it was hard to see how they could be tied together but Krulewitch did a great job of weaving together all of them! If you are a fan of a good mystery I would definitely say this is the book for you! 
 Make sure you check out the other stops on this tour. You can find the schedule here! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Resisting the Rancher by Roxanne Snopek

Release Date: April 14th, 2014

Publisher: Entangled: Bliss

Author Info: Goodreads, Website & Twitter

Age Group:  Adult


Pages: 259 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon
 
Our Rating: 4 stars


She's his best friend's sister, but he's ready to break all the rules…

Country veterinarian Celia Gamble is in trouble. A misunderstanding from her past is rearing its ugly head and the only person she can turn to is Jonah Clarke—her family’s lawyer and, as it turns out, her brother’s best friend and her childhood crush. She always wanted Jonah to see her as a bona fide woman, but as a woman who’s being blackmailed for seducing a married man? Not on her life.

Jonah is happy to help Little CeeCee Gamble, if only she’d come clean about why she’s being blackmailed. But with his best friend Zach’s wedding on the horizon, and Zach’s fashionista fiancée Desiree giving CeeCee a makeover, the little duckling Jonah remembers is turning into a definite swan. And the unwritten law on sisters is clear—hands off. Jonah must resist or lose the only true family he’s ever known.


Sweet story about a childhood crush becoming a grown up reality! It is a little typical tho-girl falls for brother's best friend, he ignores it growing up only to find himself wildly attracted to her when she comes back to town all grown up. Besides being predictable it was a really cute story. I like Jonah & Celia. I was not a fan of Zach for a good portion of the book tho. He was bossy & mean to Celia. I loved everyone else tho!

*By the Book Reviews received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. We were in no way compensated for featuring it.


Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Blog Tour: Lore: Tales of Myth and Legend Retold

 Released: March 2014

Publisher: Sweet Biscuit Publishing, LLC.

Pages: 283 pages

Genre: Young Adult

Authors:  Brinda Berry, Karen Y. Bynum, Laura Diamond, Jayne A. Knolls, Theresa DaLayne, & Cate Dean

Buy it Here: Amazon or B&N

A collection of six folklore retellings that will twist your mind and claim your heart.

SHIMMER: A heartbroken boy rescues a mermaid… but is it too late to save her?

BETWEEN is about a girl, a genie, and a ton of bad decisions.

SUNSET MOON: Eloise doesn’t believe in Native American magic–until the dreamcatcher spiders spin her down an unknown path.

THE MAKER: An incapacitated young man bent on revenge builds a creature to do it for him.

A BEAUTIFUL MOURNING: The story of a Maya goddess torn between duty and love, and the ultimate sacrifice she must make to achieve true happiness.

THE BARRICADES: When a human girl risks everything to save the life of an Eternal prince, will their feelings for each other change the world they know, or tear it apart?





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Sunday Snapshot

This summer has been so busy that I haven't had a chance to post as often as I would like. Hopefully that will be changing in the next month or so! I've read some great books lately and I am excited to be featuring their reviews soon! We are also participating in some fabulous blog tours this month, so be on the lookout for those as well! Here are some of the books that we will be featuring soon:

Sweeter Than Sin by Shiloh Walker
The Wedding Trap by Adrienne Bell
Secret Prince, Instant Daddy by Raye Morgan
Full Disclosure by Dee Henderson
Maxwell Street Blues by Marc Krulewitch



Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Blog Tour: Hidden Intentions by Stacy Claflin

Released: Summer 2014

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Pages: 256 pages

Author Info: Website and Twitter 

Buy it Here: Amazon or B&N

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

More Info: Goodreads

Fun-loving Clara is keeping a dark and deadly secret from William, the love of her life.

Not because she wants to hide things from him, but because her story is so unbelievable he will probably think she’s crazy.

If she tells him, she could lose him. If she doesn’t tell him, she will.

Cute & easy to read romance with lovable characters & a storyline that just seems to fall into place. I wasn't sure if this book would be confusing or if it will feel like something was missing, since it is part of a series (but can be read as a stand-alone story). Thankfully I didn't have any issues & everything seemed to make sense to me. I wasn't sure at first what Clara's secret was, at first I thought she was something else, but it made sense when I found out what she really was. There were a couple of parts that I thought seemed kind of odd & like they weren't really necessary-maybe they are connected to the other stories. 

All in all the book was fast paced & I enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend.

Make sure to check out the other tour stops on the Xpresso Book Tour! Check out the schedule here!

Friday, August 1, 2014

Beauty and the Best Man by Maureen Child

Release Date: April 1st, 2014

 Publisher: Harlequin Desire

Author Info: Goodreads &Website

Age Group: Adult

Pages: 192 pages (ebook)

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:  2 1/2 stars

May the Best Man Win… the Maid of Honor?

Lassiter Media millionaire Matt Hollis never let a woman stand between him and his career. But now Matt's best friend is marrying the Lassiter heiress—and her insufferable maid of honor has stolen Matt's heart. Kayla Prince is way more than this skilled negotiator bargained for.

But Kayla's conflicted. The man left her in the lurch for his L.A. gig; now he wants her back? Fool her once, shame on Matt, fool her twice…well, actually, this second chance feels like the real thing. But a fateful night is about to put that feeling to the ultimate test….


I actually didn't realize that there was a prequel to the Lassiter books, so I read book 1 first & then I found out about this one. I thought it was a decent story, although I wish it had been a little bit more developed.  I'm a big Maureen Child fan but this book was a bit of a let down compared to other books of hers that I have read. 

The romance between Matt & Kayla was cute but I just felt like there was something missing. I just didn't connect with either of the main characters. I'm just glad it was a shorter story, so that I didn't invest more time into it.


Monday, July 28, 2014

Crown Prince, Pregnant Bride by Kate Hardy

Release Date: August 5th, 2014

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, & Twitter

Age Group: Adult

Pages: 256 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5 stars

One look into the stranger's dark, mysterious eyes and Indigo Moran knows she's made a mistake in taking his picture. But who does he think he is? A prince? That night Indigo discovers that's exactly who he is: Crown Prince Lorenzo Torelli of Melvante. 

To Lorenzo, duty lies with his country—he can't offer Indigo forever. The trouble is…once he's kissed her, one unforgettable night will never be enough. And now Indigo's little secret is about to turn his carefully ordered world upside down!

I fell in love with this story from the very first chapter! I loved Indigo's personality and the fact that she wasn't afraid to speak her mind! Lorenzo was everything a girl could want-sexy, mysterious, and royal! The two of them together was pure perfection! The story progressed well & there were little things here & there that made it perfect!

This is the first book I've ever read by Kate Hardy but I can assure you it will not be the last! 

Friday, July 25, 2014

Pawn by Aimee Carter

Release Date: November 26, 2013

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Age Group: Young Adult

Pages: 346 pages (ebook)

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING.

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister's niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There's only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that's not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she's only beginning to understand.


I spotted this book while looking through recommendations on Goodreads & then found it at my library. I read Aimee Carter's Goddess Test books and I liked them so I was hoping I would like this book too. It started out a little slow for me & really wasn't what I was expecting but it picked up quickly & had lots of twists and turns that I really enjoyed. I loved Kitty throughout the entire book but I really had trouble making up my mind about some of the other characters. There were some that were easy to hate, but others I couldn't decide if Kitty should trust them or if they were just as bad as the obvious "bad guys." 

In the end I'm glad that I picked this book up & I can't wait to read the next one when it comes out!