Twitter Updates 2.2: FeedWitter

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

25 Books of Christmas: Triplets Under the Tree by Kat Cantrell

Release Date: December 1st, 2015

Publisher: Harlequin

Author Info: Website & Twitter

Genre: Romance

Pages: 192 pages

Our Rating: 4-stars

Buy it Here: Amazon

This Christmas, he'll meet his three babies for the first time...and desire their mother in a whole new way!

After a plane crash robs him of his memory, billionaire fighter Antonio Cavallari comes home for the holidays to find triplets--and their "mother"--waiting. Antonio doesn't remember surrogate Caitlyn Hopewell, but he has triplets depending upon him. Who else can he turn to except the woman raising his children...and making him burn with desire?

Caitlyn has longed for Antonio secretly for years. Now she's living in his home, loving his babies, living the life with him she's always wanted. But then Antonio's memory returns. And the secrets he's forgotten will change everything...


I LOVE a good romance & I love Christmas, so I was really excited for this book. Once I realized the that Antonio was a fighter and that fighting was a part of the book I became even more excited. I've been reading a lot of books about fighters and I've gotten hooked on the sport. Antonio was strong and sexy, with just enough vulnerability to make you fall in love with him. Cantrell could have had him play off of his memory issues but that really didn't happen & I think it made him so easy to love. I thought Cantrell did a great job of creating two lovable characters. The only thing that I thought could have been better was the time spent on Antonio remembering his wife. I wish that had been explored more, because I felt like the wrap up was a bit brief. 

*We received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. We were not compensated in any way for this review. 

Monday, November 23, 2015

November Review-a-Thon

This month we are participating in the November Review-a-Thon, which is hosted by Book Bumblings! The Review-a-Thon lasts from Friday, November 27th through Sunday, November 29th. Our goal is to write reviews for the following books:

Causing Havoc by Lori Foster
Simon Says by Lori Foster


We plan on adding more to that list & will update it before Friday!

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

No Limits by Lori Foster

Release Date: August 26, 2014

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Pages: 432 pages

Related Books: This is Book 1 in the Ultimate Series 

Our Rating: 5-stars!


Buy it Here: Amazon

Goodreads Description:
Cannon Colter is quintessential hero material: chiseled jawline, shredded body—the works. He's also the guy who rescued Yvette Sweeny from kidnappers, only to put an end to her romantic dreams. These days, she's older, smarter, determined to face whatever life throws her way. Even the prospect of sharing a house and business with Cannon.

Cannon knew Yvette wanted him three years ago. But she was young—and some things are worth waiting for. Thrown together by her grandfather's legacy, he realizes how deep Yvette's scars really go, and how much danger lurks in their quiet town. As pent-up desire explodes between them, protecting her becomes the only fight that matters. And he'll break all the rules to do it
.


Let me start by saying that I don't think I've ever fallen in love with an author as quickly or completely as I have with Lori Foster. I have read a lot of her books & I keep waiting to find one that I like less than the others but it hasn't happened yet! I have fallen in love with every single book I have read & I'm sure that trend will continue!

Our Summary: "No Limits" is the first in the Ultimate series & focuses on SBC fighter Cannon (who you should remember if you read the Love Undercover series) & Yvette. Three years ago Cannon saved Yvette (who had a thing for him) but then they went their separate ways. Now that they have been thrown back together old feelings are resurfacing & now Cannon is determined not to let her get away. As Cannon takes the role as protector once again there is no way they can deny how they feel about each other. As things start to really heat up they are forced to deal with several unexpected threats, will they come out stronger?

I LOVED Cannon when he appeared in the Love Undercover & I was hoping that he would end up with Yvette when it came time for his story! It is absolutely impossible not to fall in the love with the men that Lori Foster writes about & Cannon was no exception! I also loved the other fighters we were introduced to & I can't wait to read their stories! From the first time they were mentioned, I thought Yvette & Cannon were perfect together. In this book Yvette had grown and matured a lot, which I loved, and Foster did an amazing job growing/exploring her relationship with Cannon. This book was hot & I loved every minute of it!  


Saturday, July 18, 2015

Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge

I recently came across the Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge & even though it is the middle of July I've decided that I want to give it a try! I think it will be a great way to motivate myself to read books that aren't the norm for me. I'm excited to explore some different genres/authors. I'd love to have others join with me, so comment on this post if you plan on trying it & share some of the books you've read! You can also join the Goodreads Group here!

Below is the list of categories for this challenge. I will be posting the book I've read (along with my review link) next to each category once I've finished it. I will not be adding any previous books I've read this year, these will all be books that I've read after my start date (July 18th).

A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25
A book written by someone when they were over the age of 65
A collection of short stories (either by one person or an anthology by many people)
A book published by an indie press
A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ
A book by a person whose gender is different from your own
A book that takes place in Asia
A book by an author from Africa
A book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture (Native Americans, Aboriginals, etc.)
A microhistory
A YA novel
A sci-fi novel
A romance novel
A National Book Award, Man Booker Prize or Pulitzer Prize winner from the last decade
A book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.)
An audiobook
A collection of poetry
A book that someone else has recommended to you
A book that was originally published in another language
A graphic novel, a graphic memoir or a collection of comics of any kind (Hi, have you met Panels?)
A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure (Read, and then realize that good entertainment is nothing to feel guilty over)
A book published before 1850
A book published this year
A self-improvement book (can be traditionally or non-traditionally considered “self-improvement”)

Monday, July 13, 2015

Undetected by Dee Henderson

Author Info: Website

Publisher: Bethany House

Genre: Christian Fiction, Romance, Romantic Suspense

Pages: 480 pages (of awesome!)

Our Rating: 5-stars!

Buy it Here: Amazon

 When asked what he does for a living, Commander Mark Bishop is deliberately low-key: "I'm in the navy."

But commanding the ballistic missile submarine USS Nevada, keeping its crew trained and focused during 90-day submerged patrols, and being prepared to launch weapons on valid presidential orders, carries a burden of command like few other jobs in the military. Mark Bishop is a man who accepts that responsibility, and carries it well. And at a time when tensions are escalating in the Pacific Rim, the navy is glad to have him.

Mark wants someone to come home to after sea patrols. The woman he has in mind is young, pretty, and very smart. She's a civilian, but she understands life in the navy. And he has a strong sense that life with her would never be boring. But she may be too deep in her work to see the potential in a relationship with him.

Gina Gray would love to be married. She has always envisioned her life that way. But a breakup she didn't see coming has her focusing all her attention on what she does best--ocean science research. She's on the cusp of a breakthrough, and she needs Mark Bishop's perspective and help. Because what she's told the navy she's figured out is only the beginning. If she's right, submarine warfare is about to enter a new and dangerous chapter...


Let me start by saying, Dee Henderson is without a doubt one of my favorite authors! I fell in love with her when The Negotiator (the 1st book in the O'Malley series) was released & I've read every book since then! Her characters are so well developed and  have real, easy to relate to, struggles (although their situations are often more exciting than what most would experience!) One of my favorite things about all her books is that you often see so many characters overlap and although that overlap was limited in this book, I still found myself enjoying every single page.

I loved "Genius Gina" & Mark and from the very beginning I was excited to how they would end up together. I also really loved the navy aspect & thought all of the submarine stuff was very interesting! I would definitely recommend this book to pretty much everyone!



*I got this book from my local library, it is one of the few Dee Henderson books that I don't already own!

Friday, July 10, 2015

Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

Release Date: August 16, 2011

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance

Pages: 307 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:  5 stars

If you hang around with dead people, life can get pretty complicated. Take it from Charley Davidson, part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Complicated is her middle name. The deceased find her very sparkly. Demons find her irresistible. And one entity in particular wants to seduce her in every way possible.


When Charley and Cookie (her best friend/receptionist) have to track down a missing woman, the case is not quite as open and shut as they anticipate. Cookie's friend Mimi disappeared five days earlier. Mimi then sends Cookie a cryptic message telling Cookie to meet her at an nearby coffee shop. The coffee is brewing, but Mimi's still missing. There is, however, a clue Mimi left on the bathroom wall: a woman's name. Mimi's husband explains to them that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old high school friend had been murdered. The same woman whose name Mimi had scribbled on the bathroom wall.

Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He's left his body because he's being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can't let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they'll have a portal to heaven...well, let's just say it wouldn't be pretty.
Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Can she keep those she loves out of harm's way? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel her as she does?

I am in love with Charley Davidson. With each page I go back & forth on if I'd rather be her or be her best friend! She is a strong female character, something that so many books truly lack & she kicks butt. I don't know how Darynda Jones did it, but I don't know if anyone will be able to top this incredible character. I'm constantly wondering what is going to happen next or what funny/crazy thing is going to come out of Charley's mouth next. 

This book was just as good as the first & I can't wait to read the next book!


*I got this book from my local library. Don't you just love a good library find?!?

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Book Spotlight: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski

Release Date: May 26th, 2015

Publisher: Tarcher/Penguin

Author Info: Twitter

Pages: 208

Buy it Here: Amazon

In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, depression, and self-injury. The piece was so hauntingly beautiful that it quickly went viral, giving birth to a non-profit organization of the same name. Nine years later, To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) is an internationally-recognized leader in suicide prevention and a source of hope, encouragement, and resources for people worldwide.

Jamie’s words have been shared hundreds of thousands of times online. They’ve shown up on T-shirts and posters and even tattoos. Now, for the first time, Jamie’s writing is available in the form of a book. If You Feel Too Much is a celebration of hope, wonder, and what it means to be human. From personal stories of struggling on days most people celebrate to offering words of strength and encouragement in moments of loss, the essays in this book invite readers to believe that it’s okay to admit to pain and it's okay to ask for help. If You Feel Too Much is an important book from one of this generation’s most important voices.


This book is filled with all sorts of inspiring and motivational stories and quotes. My favorite is this one:        "Don't give up. Don't give up on your story. Don't give up on the people you love. Hope is    real. Love is real. It's all worth fighting for."
  

Monday, March 2, 2015

Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Release Date: January 6th, 2015

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, Twitter

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy

Pages: 321 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 5 stars


Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who's determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She's not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?


This is the second series I have by the amazing Amanda Hocking. I read the Trylle trilogy and I LOVED every second of it. I have not read the Watersong series, but I do plan on getting to it once I can! The other night I sat with four books in front of me, trying to decide which one to read & I decided on Frostfire and I am so glad that I did! 

This series is set in the same world that the Trylle trilogy was set in, however it focuses on a different group, the Kanin. It was easy to get sucked into this book, simply because of my previous knowledge of the society that I gained in the other series. I absolutely adored Bryn and I loved how smart & strong she was. She was dedicated but she was also interested in finding out the truth, not just in following orders. The storyline was good, with some twists and lots of suspense.  I can't wait to read the second book!

Friday, February 27, 2015

Want Me by Cynthia Eden

Release Date: January 27th, 2015

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, & Twitter

Pages: 140 pages

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating:  5-Stars!

She doesn’t play it safe…

Sophie Sarantos has a weakness for dangerous men. She doesn’t like safe lovers—she likes men with a wild, rough edge. But Sophie may have attracted a lover who is too dangerous, even for her. Someone is stalking Sophie, slipping into her home, watching her day and night. The stranger seems to know all of Sophie’s darkest secrets, secrets that should never be revealed.

Out of options, Sophie turns to ex-solider Lex Jensen for protection. Lex is part owner of VJS Protection, Inc., and Sophie hires him as her bodyguard. She thinks Lex is one of the “good guys” out there, but she couldn’t be more wrong.

He doesn’t play at all…

Lex has his own secrets. Dark, deadly secrets. And as his feelings for Sophie grow, Lex knows that he is going to have to stop pretending to be a gentleman and, instead, he’ll have to show Sophie who he really is. A man trained to kill. A man too used to evil. A man who will take any risk…as long as he can claim Sophie.

Because there is one thing that Lex wants in this world…one person he desires above all others…Sophie. And no one will hurt her, not on his watch. 


When I started this book I didn't realize that it was the second in a series. Thankfully these books (or at least this one!) can be read as a stand-alone! I loved everything about this book, except how quickly I got to the ending. The author does an amazing job weaving a great story of suspense & seduction. The storyline was great and kept me guessing, I kept making guesses about who the stalker was, but I was never really sure if I was right. I LOVE a book that can hold my attention and keep me wondering if my guess is right! 

Now for the characters, I absolutely loved them all! Sophie was tough and smart & I loved the way she interacted with every character. Lex was strong and sexy and exactly the kind of guy I'd want protecting me! All of the other characters, regardless of the part they played in the story, were really well developed & I am excited to read the next book & explore more of the characters! I would absolutely, 100% recommend this book! 

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Baby Twins to Bind Them by Carol Marinelli

Release Date: March 1st, 2015

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Pages: 264 pages

Genre:
Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 2-stars

The ultimate baby bombshell!

For delicious Dr Guy Steele, life is all about the flirting and never about forever! It’s the only way to avoid discussing the painful issue of his infertility. So a fling with Candy Anastasi, the sexiest nurse in the hospital, is the perfect solution…right?

Candy’s desperate to take her mind off her good-for-nothing ex — and six weeks of the best sex of her life is the ideal distraction! Until she realises that she’s fallen for Guy…and that she’s pregnant — with twins! Could her double baby bombshell ultimately bind her to Guy…forever?


 This is the first Harlequin Medical book that I have read and I'm not sure why I waited so long. I liked the medical aspect of the book, even if I wasn't a huge fan of the rest of it. I thought the story was fine, nothing spectacular but nothing awful. The characters were kind of boring and the storyline was nothing to get excited about. I don't think I would recommend it, but I'm sure plenty people will like it. 
 

Monday, February 23, 2015

The Billionaire's Bridal Bargain Lynne Graham

Release Date: March 17th, 2015

Author Info: Twitter, Website, & Goodreads

Pages: 192 pages

Genre: Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5 stars

To love, honor…

Cesare Sabatino never intended to marry. But if his thoughts did ever stray in that direction, the lucky woman's answer would have been a resounding "yes". Imagine his surprise when Lizzie Whitaker turns him down on the spot!

…and possess?

To get his hands on her Mediterranean island inheritance, Cesare must wed innocent Lizzie…and ensure she's carrying his heir! Luckily the formidable Italian is legendary for his powers of persuasion. With Lizzie desperate to save her family's farm, it's only a matter of time before she gives in…and discovers the many pleasurable benefits of wearing this tycoon's ring. 


Cesare & Lizzie were so different that I wondered how they would manage to connect, but once it started I was hooked! Cesare needs to get his hands on that island, even if only temporarily & Lizzie is determined to make sure her sister has more chances in life than she ever did. Once the two reach an agreement Lizzie is taken on the adventure of a lifetime and she finds herself in situations she had never even dreamed of. 

Before Cesare & Lizzie realize it, they are involved in a relationship that is becoming all too real, something that neither of them thought would happen. Can they make it work, regardless of their differences? 
 

Friday, February 20, 2015

Breathe by Abbi Glines

Release Date: June 4, 2013

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Genre: Young Adult, Romance

Pages: 333 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 3 stars

Sadie White's summer job isn't going to be on the beach life-guarding or working at rental booths like most kids her age. With her single mother's increasing pregnancy and refusal to work, Sadie has to take over her mother's job as a domestic servant for one of the wealthy summer families on a nearby island.

When the family arrives at their summer getaway, Sadie is surprised to learn that the owner of the house is Jax Stone, one of the hottest teen rockers in the world. If Sadie hadn't spent her life raising her mother and taking care of the house she might have been normal enough to be excited about working for a rock star.

Even though Sadie isn't impressed by Jax's fame, he is drawn to her. Everything about Sadie fascinates Jax but he fights his attraction. Relationships never work in his world and as badly as he wants Sadie, he believes she deserves more. By the end of the summer, Jax discovers he can't breathe without Sadie.


This is the first book I've read by Abbi Glines & although it got better the more I read, I just was not a huge fan of the writing style. I thought the story had great potential, and I did really enjoy the storyline but the writing just wasn't as good as I'm used to reading. I don't think I will continue with the series. 

*I got this book from my local library. Don't you just love a good library find?!?

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

The Italian's Deal for I Do by Jennifer Hayward

Release Date: March 17th, 2015

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, & Twitter

Genre: Romance

Pages: 192 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

The Irresistible Italian: Married for Business

He's conquered global markets and immeasurable hearts, but to regain control of the fashion empire that's rightfully his, Rocco Mondelli must prove his playboy days are over. His secret weapon? Supermodel-in-hiding Olivia Fitzgerald…and the power to ruin her if she refuses to play his loving fiancĂ©e!

But returning to the world stage revives Olivia's old demons, and instead of walking down the aisle toward her gorgeous groom—she flees! The world holds its breath: Can the indomitable Rocco get his wayward bride to the altar on time?

The world's sexiest billionaires finally say "I do"!
  


I read this book straight through, because I didn't want to put it down. The chemistry between Rocco & Olivia jumped off the pages! I loved the complexities of the characters & how they each had their own issues but figured out a way to lean on each other to get through them. What started as a business deal quickly turned into much more & it definitely made for a great read! 

*We received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. We were not compensated in any way for this review.

Monday, February 16, 2015

Princess's Secret Baby by Carol Marinelli

Release Date: February 17th, 2015

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Pages: 192 pages

Genre:
Contemporary Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4-stars

A Princess for the Playboy

The Princess of Surhaadi is desperate to escape a life lived in the shadows of her family's past. One misguided night of rebellion later and Leila's world comes crashing down thanks to two little blue lines on the pregnancy test!

When James Chatsfield—world-renowned bad boy and soon-to-be father —hears the shocking news, he knows he needs to act, and fast! He'll propose to protect his heir, but will Leila ever believe he sees her as more than just the mother of his child? 


Leila left home after years of being neglected and unloved, always failing to live up to the memory of the sister her parent's naively thought was perfect. Now she wants to live a little and experience the life she has been missing. Unfortunately, her sheltered life has not really prepared her for what things are like outside of the palace. She quickly adapts as best as she can, mostly because she has to. After a fateful night with James Chatsfield, her life will never be the same. 

James had plans to continue seeing Leila. Unfortunately since he didn't know much about her he was unable to track her down after their night together. All that changes once the press gets a hold of the story & James is shocked to discover he is going to be a father. Now he must do everything he can to make sure he has a place in his child's life. 

I liked the storyline, I loved James, but Leila was just a little too stuffy and spoiled in my opinion. I definitely enjoyed the book & plan on reading more by this author!

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

For All Time by Jude Deveraux

Release Date: July 1st, 2014

Author Info: Goodreads & Website

Genre:Historical Romance, Contemporary Romance

Pages: 400 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 4 stars 

The wedding of Alix Madsen and Jared Montgomery is a glorious affair at an elegant little chapel in the woods, followed by dinner and dancing, all while moonlight blankets the festivities in a romantic glow. While most guests are fixed on the happy couple, Jared’s cousin Graydon can’t look away from a bridesmaid, Toby Wyndam. It’s not just her quiet beauty that enthralls him or the way she makes him laugh. Toby possesses the truly remarkable ability of being able to distinguish Graydon from his identical twin brother, Rory. According to family legend, such a gift marks her as Graydon’s True Love.

But Graydon knows there is no possible way that they can ever be together, for he is heir to the Lanconian throne and is to marry a noble woman who has been chosen for him. Yet, intrigued by Toby, he asks her to help him hide on Nantuck for a week away from regal responsibilities. In exchange, he’ll assist her with planning acclaimed novelist Victoria Madsen’s lavish wedding. Since they both know their union is impossible, the pair promises that they will never be more than just friends.

But there’s more going on between Graydon and Toby than her unique power to tell him apart from his twin. At work are forces beyond their control, which are ruled by time itself. Combine that with the magical island of Nantucket, and a seductive spell is cast over Graydon and Toby. If they are to be together, they must change what once was, as well as what will be.


The second book in the Nantucket Bride's trilogy, I must admit I didn't love this book as much as I loved the first one but it was still great. I absolutely love Toby & I like how she didn't let Graydon's identity intimidate her, nor did she let his bodyguards/friends. The length of this book and the time-travel aspect made it take me a little longer to read, but it was definitely worth it. I can't wait to read the final book in the trilogy, which is supposed to be out this summer!

Monday, February 9, 2015

Undeniably Yours (Kowalski Family Book #2) by Shannon Stacey

Release Date: November 1st, 2010

Author Info: Goodreads, Website, Twitter

Pages: 381 pages

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 stars

Related Books: Exclusively Yours (Book 1), All He Ever Needed (Book 4)


One-night stand + two percent condom failure rate = happily ever after?

Bar owner Kevin Kowalski is used to women throwing their phone numbers at him, but lately he’s more interested in finding a woman to settle down with. A woman like Beth Hansen. If only their first meeting hadn’t gone so badly...

Beth’s tending bar at a wedding when she comes face-to-face with a tuxedo-clad man she never thought she’d see again. She tries to keep her distance from Kevin but, by last call, she can’t say no to his too-blue eyes or the invitation back to his room. Then she slips out before breakfast without leaving a note and, despite their precautions, pregnant.

Kevin quickly warms to the idea of being a dad and to seeing where things go with Beth. After all, he’s not the player she thinks he is. But she’s not ready for a relationship and, given his reputation, it’s going to take a lot to convince her to go on a second date with the father of her child...

I absolutely LOVE this family! Shannon Stacey has done an incredible job creating a family & storylines that are impossible to put down! I really loved Kevin but I had my moments when I was not a huge fan of Beth. I wish she wouldn't have given him such a hard time, as it was clear that he wanted to make things work with her. I think my favorite parts were when ever the Kowalski's interacted with each other. I'm excited to read more in this series!

Friday, February 6, 2015

The Wedding Trap by Adrienne Bell

Release Date: July 2nd, 2013

Author Info: Goodreads

Pages: 166 pages

Genre:
Contemporary Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Beth Bradley has a problem. Everyone is expecting her successful music executive boyfriend, Charlie, to be her date for her best friend’s wedding. There’s one hitch: Charlie doesn’t exist. Unless she can think of something fast, she’s headed for the most humiliating weekend of her life.

Alex Tanner has a problem. The former Navy SEAL's search for a double agent lands him at the Kensington Hotel, and he needs a cover to finish the job. When the sexy maid of honor blackmails him into pretending to be her lover, he thinks he's been handed the solution.

Except Beth has a way of stumbling into trouble, and when the man Alex is hunting starts targeting Beth, Alex has to decide between duty and the woman who has stolen his heart.


When Beth asks Alex to pretend to be her boyfriend Charlie, who doesn't actually exist, she has no idea who he is or why he happens to be at the same hotel her best friend is getting married at. Alex takes advantage of Beth's desperate to give him a cover to investigate but the two quickly find things heating up, in more ways than one. When Beth catches a glimpse of the man Alex is trying to catch, she finds herself in danger & his top priority is keeping her safe. 

I thought this book was cute, funny, & a quick read! Beth had lied to everyone (except her best friend) about her current boyfriend and her ex, Spencer, was determined to catch her in the lie. Alex was perfect & quickly charmed everyone. I loved the chemistry between Beth & Alex and I liked the excitement of trying to catch the criminals!

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Call Me Irresistible by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Release Date: January 18th, 2011

Publisher: William Morrow

Author Info: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Chick-Lit

Pages: 385 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Our Rating: 5 stars!! 


R.S.V.P. to the most riotous wedding of the year . . .

Lucy Jorik is the daughter of a former president of the United States.

Meg Koranda is the offspring of legends.

One of them is about to marry Mr. Irresistible—Ted Beaudine—the favorite son of Wynette, Texas. The other is not happy about it and is determined to save her friend from a mess of heartache.

But even though Meg knows that breaking up her best friend's wedding is the right thing to do, no one else seems to agree. Faster than Lucy can say "I don't," Meg becomes the most hated woman in town—a town she's stuck in with a dead car, an empty wallet, and a very angry bridegroom. Broke, stranded, and without her famous parents at her back, Meg is sure she can survive on her own wits. What's the worst that can happen? Lose her heart to the one and only Mr. Irresistible? Not likely. Not likely at all.


Having just finished my first book by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, I was anxious to read another! This book caught my eye, so I thought it would be the perfect second book to read from this amazing author! It wasn't exactly what I was expecting- it was so much more amazing than I could have anticipated. Phillips does so a great job with not only her storylines but with her characters! Every character has something unique about them that makes you fall in love!

From the very first page I loved Meg & as soon as she met Ted part of me was hoping that they would somehow end up together! I love how she grows & matures throughout the book but I hated how the townspeople blamed her for every little thing that went wrong. I loved her reactions to all of them & I love how, as her relationship with Ted changed, she was trying to take the blame for things that weren't her fault. Their arguments and chemistry was amazing & entertaining!

I loved everything about this book! The characters were funny & quirky, the storyline kept my interest and I devoured this book in a few hours because I couldn't put it down. I wanted to live in this story! By the time I finished I found myself wondering where Phillips' books had been all my life!

Monday, February 2, 2015

Stripping the Billionaire by Noelle Adams

Release Date: September 9th, 2014

Pages:
178 pages

Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Buy it Here: Amazon


Our Rating: 4-stars

For the last eight months, Mandy has lived across the hall from a caveman.

He won’t trim his beard, he mostly talks in grunts, and he’ll hardly emerge from his cave of an apartment. Ben might be a grumpy mess, but she kind of likes him anyway. She’s not attracted to him, of course. Not at all. Those stray feelings are merely a fluke. She’s looking for a man who has it all together, and Ben isn’t even close.

Benjamin Damon is heir to a billion-dollar corporate empire, but he has put his family and that whole lifestyle behind him. No one knows who he is now—not even his pretty princess of a neighbor who refuses to leave him alone.

When she ropes him into taking her with him to work on his mother’s historic Savannah home, he knows it’s a mistake. Mandy represents the world he’s tried so hard to escape, and he can’t let one woman strip him of the new man he’s tried to become. The more he’s with her, though, the more he wants her. Despite his best efforts, he’s falling for her hard—and dreading the day she finds out all of his lies.


As you can probably tell from the rest of my reviews, I'm a big romance fan! I have not read anything by this author nor did I read the other books in this series (I discovered after reading it that it was book 4.) As far as I can tell, it wasn't necessary to read the other books but I wish I had because I think I would have really enjoyed them. I thought that the storyline was really good, which is something that is sometimes lacking in a romance. I would definitely recommend it, although you may want to check out the other 3 books first! 

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

What's Coming on By the Book!

I know that many of you have noticed a lack of reviews lately, but that problem should be fixed very soon!! We are very excited for all that will be happening in 2015 and hope that you will be with us through it all!

First up, February, will be filled with Romance! We will be featuring a ton of great Romance's that are sure to get you in the mood for Valentine's Day! 

What else would you like to see us do in 2015? We'd love to hear your thoughts & ideas!!

Thursday, January 8, 2015

All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family Book 4)by Shannon Stacey

Release Date: December 18th, 2012

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Author Info: Goodreads, Website

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Pages: 304 pages

Buy it Here: Amazon

Related Books: Exclusively Yours(Book 1)

Our Rating: 4-stars

He won’t stay put for a woman, and she won’t chase after any man…

Mitch Kowalski lives out of a suitcase—and he likes it that way. Traveling for work has the added bonus of scaring off women who would otherwise try to tie him down. But when he’s called home to help with the family lodge, he’s intrigued by the new girl in town and her insistence that she doesn’t need a man. If there’s one thing Mitch can’t resist, it’s a challenge.

After a nomadic childhood, Paige Sullivan is finally putting down roots. Determined to stand on her own two feet, she lives by the motto “Men are a luxury, not a necessity.” But when Mr. Tall, Dark and Hot pulls up a stool in her diner and offers her six weeks of naughty fun with a built-in expiration date, she’s tempted to indulge.

They’re the perfect match for a no-strings fling. Until they realize their sexy affair has become anything but casual…


I some how ended up with this book, book 4 in the series, before I read 2 or 3. I'm not sure if that impacted the story, it didn't really seem to, but I can't really be sure until I see what books 2 & 3 have in store for me! As in Exclusively Yours, Stacey does a great job telling a story that readers can really get into. The characters were interesting, the situations were interesting...there just seemed to be a little something missing for me. I am loving the Kowalski family & I am excited to go back now & read books 2 & 3 and then continue with the rest of the series. This is definitely a series I would recommend!